Life and War with Mikey Fatboy Delgado, Tenth Anniversary of the Iraq War Edition

I don’t know about you but I’ll be celebrating the Tenth Anniversary of the Iraq War by rereading “Life and War with Mikey Fatboy Delgado” by Mikey Fatboy Delgado (laughing mushroom press, 2010) this Easter. This is the harrowing account of some bloke mostly following the war on TV and getting fucked up. An excerpt:

“I’ve been going through my videos of the war all afternoon but I’m fucked if I can find that bit with that little blonde soldier with her gun. I’d like Mary to see it so she can see how the little blonde piece was shouting at those Iraqis who were nicking stuff. I think I’ve tracked down a helmet her size. It’s down in Portsmouth but I don’t mind the travelling. It’s a German one from World War Two, but I thought if we got another pair of combat trousers from QValue I could cut a bit out of them and cover the helmet up and it’d look like the camouflage stuff that was on hers. It’s buy one and get a second pair half price. I’ll tell the bird there that we don’t want a second pair half price but can she throw in a balaclava or something?”

Follow any new developments at lifeandwar.tumblr.com.

Leave a Reply

